Wyoming lawmakers have submitted a new smokable hemp bill to the Senate Judiciary Committee for consideration, which could go into effect July 1.
Senate Act 90 would prohibit the sale of smokable hemp to anyone under the age of 21 and the use of smokable hemp in public.
A person who knowingly or intentionally smokes a hemp-containing product in public is guilty of an offense including up to $ 50 for the first offense, up to $ 100 for the second, and up to $ 500 punished for the third offense, says the proposed legislation.
Legislation also provides that any person selling, offering, giving away, or supplying smokable hemp or smokable hemp products to anyone under the age of 21 is guilty of an offense that can be fined up to $ 250 for the first offense and $ 500 the second violation can be punished within 24 months and $ 750.00 for a third or subsequent violation within 24 months.
Additionally, the law also provides that the court can allow the defendant to do community service and be awarded $ 10 for each hour worked for the first and second violations, and $ 5 an hour for the third violation. The fee is offset against the defendant’s fine and court costs.
Retailers who knowingly sell, offer, give away, or distribute smokable hemp or smokable hemp products to anyone under the age of 21 will face the same fines but will not be able to do community service.
Retailers who commit their third misdemeanor within 24 months may no longer be able to sell smokable hemp products at their location, the bill states.
Aside from smokable hemp products, the bill also proposes: “Any hemp product marketed as a food or drink, or intended for consumption, must have a label on the product packaging listing all active and inactive ingredients of the food or drink product that contains hemp or cannabidiol “(CBD).
In addition to Senate Act 90, the legislators also submitted Bill 82 to the House Judiciary Committee for review. The bill requires the state health commissioner to prepare a report on the introduction of medical cannabis in Wyoming, with the assistance of the Department of Health, Pharmacy Committee, State Medicine Committee, State Insurance Commissioner, and Attorney General.
The bill states that the report should identify medical conditions that medical knowledge suggests would benefit from the treatment of medicinal cannabis.
The report should also include recommendations to regulate the prescription of medical cannabis, recommendations to prevent illicit prescriptions, a timetable for implementation and regulation of medical cannabis in the state, and the identification of changes necessary to implement the use of medical cannabis are.
“The state health officer must submit the report required under this section to the interim committee for labor, health and social affairs by September 30, 2021 at the latest,” says the draft law.
More information is available at www.wyoleg.gov.